I’ve just received an email from Chatfuel announcing that they would change the structure of their Pro pricing plan and their Free Plan offering. A perfect moment to compare Messenger chatbot platforms pricing models.
So far it’s been possible to run a chatbot on Chatfuel for free without any limit on the amount of registered users. This is changing from August 1, 2018.
The free plan will be limited to 5,000 users. But the Pro Plan will become cheaper. You’ll find below the pricing just announced by Chatfuel.
Bear in mind that the price is per bot / per page. So if you have multiple bots connected to multiple pages, you’ll have to activate multiple pro plans. In order to make a comparison with other Messenger chatbot platforms pricing models, we’ll take the price point for 10,000 users = $85 per month. This new pricing structure goes into effect on June 20, 2018.
Note: if you want to improve the NLP capacity of your Chatfuel bot (pretty basic by default), you can connect it to Google’s Dialogflow platform (free for most startup use cases) via ActiveChat’s Integrator.
Manychat is probably the other most used mainstream chatbot platform on the market at the moment. It’s a bit cheaper than Chatfuel for the same amount of users.
But in my opinion it’s missing an important feature = the possibility to set automatically timed messages based on what’s happening (or not) inside a conversation, for instance to retarget users if they don’t reply to a question after a few minutes. A very powerful feature on Chatfuel, which increases the conversion rate for lead generation bots.
10,000 users will cost $65 per month on Manychat (vs 85 on Chatfuel).
Botengine‘s pricing model is totally different. It’s based on the amount of conversations. It starts at $50 for 1000 conversations. Difficult to compare with Chatfuel and Manychat. But let’s say that you would have 2 conversations with each of your 10,000 users = 20,000 conversations, $50 + $190 (19K x 0.01) = $240.
Much more expensive than the other 2. But if you don’t have that many conversations in the long run (because of dormant users), the price could be a bit lower….
FlowXo‘s pricing model is also based on the amount of interactions with users. The premium plan starts at $19 per month including 5,000 interactions. You can add 25,000 interactions for another $25. You can . Let’s assume that we would have 2 interactions with 10,000 users, it would cost us $44 per month. I’m not sure about the latest developments of the platform. The last time I tested FlowXo, it seemed to me that it was less user-friendly than Chatfuel or ManyChat.
I didn’t know this platform. It looks pretty neat.
It’s Alive‘s pricing model is also based on the amount of interactions / messages, not the amount of users. I took the example of 20,000 messages for 10,000 users. With It’s Alive this would cost you $49 per month, which makes it cheaper than Chatfuel and Manychat. But I’m still a bit confused by their architecture (the Recipe concept), which doesn’t really give an overall view of the bot + I would also miss my rule-based automatic triggers from Chatfuel… I also feel it would take much longer to (re)build a complex bot with It’s Alive, jumping from screen to screen, e.g. to create recipes based on groups of keywords.
It looks promising though, I’ll keep an eye on their progress.
Botsify’s pricing structure looks very attractive, with a Business Plan incl. 50,000 users for $50 per month. Which means that our 10,000 users example would cost $50 ($41.67 if billed annually) per month (instead of $85 at Chatfuel or $65 at ManyChat). But to be honest the UI is quite confusing / old school if you’re accustomed to the fluid flows of Chatfuel or ManyChat. Definitely not as polished.
They have a Pro plan at $49 per month (15% cheaper if paid annually) which includes 5,000 contacts. To reach our 10,000 mark, we would need to buy an additional pack at $24 per month. So our total price for 10,000 users, if paid monthly, would be $73 per month, a bit cheaper than Chatfuel ($85), a bit more expensive than ManyChat ($65), with the same issue I raised earlier re: ManyChat vs Chatfuel, i.e. the absence of timed retargeting triggers which are IMO essentiel to optimize the conversion of your funnel.
Morph.ai looks very advanced but it’s also VERY EXPENSIVE. It starts at… $984 per month (yes $984 would be our price for 10,000 users). It has apparently a few attractive features under the hood like “Nurturing Tools” but it’s not the kind of price that most SMEs can afford.
There’s no public pricing for Chattypeople which positions itself on the managed services / enterprise market. So I can’t comment on the price they would offer for 10,000 users. It’s probably more than the self-service options listed above.
I’ll finish this article with another interesting product, BotSociety, which enables you to create chatbot prototypes and export them as videos or GIF. A nice way to share a project with colleagues or clients before moving into product with one of the Messenger chatbot platforms. It’s also nice to promote your bot on Youtube, social media, etc (alternatively you could record your screen mirroring a phone but it’s less convenient). You can try it for free with one project.
Have fun creating Messenger bots. Read my other piece where I tell you why you absolutely need a Facebook Messenger bot these days.